top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla Warwick

Ryanair are the King of misleading (in my opinion)

When I first saw this campaign on TV I was shocked! I wondered how Ryanair could be so insensitive to the pandemic. Ryanair claimed the campaign was meant to be 'uplifting,' it was far from that. The campaign has now been taken down, due to number of complaints to the ASA (Advertising Standard Authority). There was 2,370 complaints to be specific. Ryanair were encouraging people to book a holiday and to just 'Jab & Go.' That line on its own is in my opinion is

offensive to victims of COVID & their families. We have all missed going on holiday and Ryanair are obviously struggling with sales, but this campaign wasn't the way to get the public on their side. I think this campaign also looks very cheesy and in your face. Which doesn't really portray a good image for the company. An article in The Drum claims that 'the airline covered itself by pointing to the fact that it made no specific claims around when, how or to whom vaccines ought to be delivered.' This explanation doesn't really cut it for me. I'm surprised how long the campaign actually ran. After doing some digging around, I also found that this wasn't the first time that Ryanair have had bad rep with the ASA. In 2008 and 2012 campaign ran for Ryanair with air hostess's in their underwear. Complaints stated that the company were 'objectifying' women and that Ryanair 'should be selling a service, not the attractiveness of female staff.' Some even believed they were just hiring female staff based on their looks. In 2019 Ryanair also got a campaign banded for misleading information. They claimed they had the 'lowest carbon emissions of any major airline.' ASA stated that Ryanair broke the rules on environmental claims and mislead consumers. I don't understand how a brand so big, can get it so wrong a number of times.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page